PDA

View Full Version : 120 gallon tank glass questions.

rlf_racing
04/30/2011, 03:33 PM
I found a 120 gallon glass tank a few days ago in someones trash. I did notice a small amount of damage to one pane of glass and a damage to a corner of the decorative frame along the bottom. I did fill the tank all the way up with water while it was outside to see if it would hold water. It held water for 8 hrs with no issue.

My questions are. With the one pane of glass that has a chip in it, would it be safe to leave it as is or take the time to repair it? And as for the decorative frame work on the bottom of the tank. How hard would it be to pull it off and replace it with real wood?

bamf25
04/30/2011, 03:36 PM
Repair it. You never want to find out after the fact. Unless you like water everywhere.

rlf_racing
04/30/2011, 03:37 PM
How hard would it be to repair it? As I have never done that before.

thegrun
04/30/2011, 05:23 PM
Where are the chips (near the top, middle or bottom)? I would not be worried if they are in within the top 3-4", but any lower than that and they are a concern. Also I believe the bottom frame does give structural support. If you remove it, you need to be sure that what you replace it with helps hold the tank together. I am not aware of an adequate repair for the chips if they are low other than replacing the entire panel. That can be done, but it involves a lot of labor and some skill (well, knowledge of how to work with glass, silicone and aquariums). In general, if the chips are more than 4" down, I would only use the tank as a reptile tank (no water). The other great unknown is if the tank was used as a fresh water tank, then it likely was subjected to copper treatments which is absorbed into the silicone, a big no if you plan on keeping any type of corals.

rlf_racing
04/30/2011, 05:55 PM