PDA

View Full Version : House fire and a small problem

1fishkeeper
05/02/2011, 12:42 PM
Well everyone I have a small problem on my hands. My brothers house had house fire that burned up a lot of things. One of them being part of his tank. A lot of his coral didnt make it but he does have a few that he has fragged a few small chunks of it to keep. The big problem for his he will be living in a hotel while they work on his house. And while they are doing that the power with be off and on.
So here is the big question for all of the smart people out and about on here. I just started up my new tank. It has just about finished up the cycle but its still going through it. The frags that he could save he was wanting to know if he could ship them to me. To keep while his house is done and give him enough time to get another tank up and going. I have been keeping reefs for alomst 10 years now but I have always had a fully cycled tank before I even thought about putting anything in it. So I was thinking that I might get away with it if I do 5 gallon water changes everyday my total water amount is around 52-54 gallons. Im thinking that should keep everything in check until the cycle gets finish. But I have to let him know here in couple of hours so he can ship them to me. The big reason why he wants to do this is so he can get frags back when his tank is up and going. And I think he wants someone to put the blame on if they die (its a brother thing I think). That is why he wants me to get them and not someone else around him.
So whats your ideas on this. Do you think it will work out and I wont kill all of the frags off. Or if you know of a better idea let me know. And im not talking add some type of snake oil to my tank that makes cycle happen over night. Anyone else have to add things to their tanks early?

neoalchemist74
05/02/2011, 01:06 PM
Put them in a QT tank with daily water changes until your cycle is done!

1fishkeeper
05/02/2011, 01:21 PM