PDA

View Full Version : How do you target feed a feather duster without scaring it back into its tube???

Jlobo
05/18/2011, 08:38 PM
:rolleye1: Dumb question, I know, but it's my first duster.

reeftanker3295
05/18/2011, 08:42 PM
I never fed mine. They will filter tiny particles out of the water. Just let it be and it should be fine.

Jlobo
05/18/2011, 08:44 PM
I never fed mine. They will filter tiny particles out of the water. Just let it be and it should be fine.

Really? How big were yours?

Lazcar45
05/18/2011, 08:44 PM
Im not an expert but i dont think you need to spot feed a feather duster, they are a filter feeder, they eat nutrients out of the water colum, you could always add some phytoplankton.

bnumair
05/18/2011, 08:45 PM
i have cocoa worm and been there for 5 yrs now i have never fed mine. its filter feeder and will absorb food out of water.

reeftanker3295
05/18/2011, 08:47 PM
Really? How big were yours?

Anywhere from pinky finger nail to a full sized colored feather duster. The only thing small enough that we can feed them would probably be phyto and it's really not needed.

Jlobo
05/18/2011, 08:48 PM
Oh, okay well I bought Kent phytoplankton to feed my purple & white dwarf duster but maybe I didn't need to do that.

SushiGirl
05/18/2011, 08:53 PM
I feed mine with a turkey baster. It's been very tolerant up until 2 days ago when I added more corals & kept sticking my hand in the tank over there. Now it's a little touchy & closes up more LOL. I just wait until it opens again, and GENTLY squirt from the turkey baster...it wiggles a little like it likes it heheheh.

pentrix2
05/19/2011, 05:18 AM
Im not an expert but i dont think you need to spot feed a feather duster, they are a filter feeder, they eat nutrients out of the water colum, you could always add some phytoplankton.

+1 on phyto. i put some in the tank every 2-3 days.

greenbean36191
05/19/2011, 06:23 AM