PDA

View Full Version : 40 Breeder Lighting?

aeromike9
05/22/2011, 03:23 PM
I am setting up a 40 breeder tank and am wondering what kind of corals I can keep under a dual T5 HO (2x39). Most lights of this type come with a 10,000K and 420/460nm. I know this will limit the types of corals I can keep, but I am trying to keep costs low. The AquaticLife fixture I am looking at is linkable, so I could add another in the future.

I am also thinking of supplementing it with an LED strip light for some extra light and shimmer.

Any advice/opinions would be helpful as this is my first attempt into the saltwater world.

-Mike

jayk198030
05/22/2011, 03:28 PM
zoas and some softies with do ok under they light setup. how deep is the tank?

jayk198030
05/22/2011, 03:31 PM
Oh yeah as far as other advice: Time to break the bank. Not a cheap hobby and sometime its very frustrating. Instant ocean Reef crystals is a good brand of salt. Take your time dont rush and read a lot of info here at reef central best place for advice.

kdino1
05/22/2011, 04:00 PM
softies and zoanthids, maybe some of the easier lps and sps like frowspawn and monti in the middle near the top

aeromike9
05/22/2011, 04:14 PM
The tank is 36x18x16.

Peale
05/22/2011, 04:35 PM
I have a 6 bulb T5 fixture on my 40B and it is SPS dominant. I would say not to waste your money on anything less than a 4 bulb fixture. You will just end up regretting it if you do.

aeromike9
05/22/2011, 05:07 PM
I guess that is one good thing about the AquaticLife 2 bulb. They can be linked/connected together so I could get another one if I wanted to start keeping some of the more light hungry specimens.

Does anyone have any thoughts on adding some LED strip(s) along with the T5s?

greech
05/22/2011, 05:18 PM