PDA

View Full Version : Disinfecting RO/DI unit


GlenG
05/23/2011, 07:43 PM
Russ- I read in one of your posts you gave instructions on how to properly disinfect a ro/di unit. Would you mind re-posting. I cant find it anywhere. Thanks Glen

Buckeye Hydro
05/23/2011, 09:11 PM
Here you go!

http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd293/BuckeyeFS/SanitizeyourRODI.jpg
Russ

GlenG
05/23/2011, 11:19 PM
Thanks Russ

sidjam
08/06/2011, 11:12 PM
Could you repost this?

Buckeye Hydro
08/07/2011, 05:20 AM
Sure.

http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd293/BuckeyeFS/Sanitize.jpg

buildinboats
08/08/2011, 08:18 PM
Sorry to jump in but where is the RO membrane while the bleach solution is in the system? Is the membrane installed and seeing the solution or is it in storage?

Buckeye Hydro
08/08/2011, 08:25 PM
Sorry to jump in but where is the RO membrane while the bleach solution is in the system? Is the membrane installed and seeing the solution or is it in storage?

See bottom of 3rd paragraph - the membrane should be removed during the sanitizing. Don't let the membrane dry out. Best to soak a clean rag with RO water, wrap the membrane in the rag, and place it in a plastic bag with RO water.

Russ

buildinboats
08/09/2011, 08:02 AM
Does the membrane ever get sanitized? If not, wouldn't it just recontaminate everything else downstream of it?

Buckeye Hydro
08/09/2011, 11:26 AM
It can, if it is contaminated in the first place.

Inspect the membrane, and smell both ends. If you notice a slimy coating on the membrane, or if the membrane smells bad, it is likely biofouled.

Although a biofouled membrane can be treated, its not typically worth the trouble on the inexpensive/residential scale membranes used in this hobby. That can be a different story if you're working with membranes that run hundreds of dollars.

Russ