PDA

View Full Version : Need help with getting started

atreyu84
05/27/2011, 06:52 PM
I'm new to the saltwater community, but have had freshwater tanks most of my life. I've been doing a lot of research and about to take the road to saltwater. a guy gave me 2 tanks which are 55 gal measuring 48*13*18. one of them has a hole in the bottom of the tank for a 1" bulkhead but no other holes. which is the one i'll end up using because the other tank has a crack in the side but has not broke through and i'm afraid that the pressure from the water will break it.

my question is the bottom only has the one hole can i drill for a second for a bigger overflow stand pipe? also the bottom is cloudy is there any way to clear that up i'll try to post some pictures of it

i'm looking at mostly a reef tank with sps and lps corals. and need advice on what to do with a sump as far as protein skimmers and using bio balls or socks.

any help would be great

atreyu84
05/27/2011, 07:00 PM
here are some pictures of the tanks

Josh_Canada
05/27/2011, 07:11 PM
a low maintenance sump i seen alot on google and such is fairly simple:
overflow into first chamber through filter sock, then protein skimmer, three baffles forcing bubbles to travel under water as not to have a constant cycle of micro-bubbles (they diffuse through the water). next i would definelty suggest a chaetomorpha/LR rubble refugium, lastly a chamber for a heater and return pump. I run this set up with a pouch of activated carbon slid between the baffles, have yet to see any detectable nitrates (also a 30 gal sump for 50 gal tank), only do small water changes for the sake of trace elements now.

greech
05/27/2011, 07:15 PM
If the glass isn't tempered you can drill another hole. It looks like that hole was drilled after the tank was built so it may not be tempered.

The silicone doesn't looks a little rough I would make sure the tank will hold water before you go too far and spend too much $.