PDA

View Full Version : Android App - AQT Mobile Progress

Paradiddle7
05/29/2011, 01:05 PM
I got Strept throat this weekend, so I was able to spend about 3 hours today teaching myself how to make apps for Android and a little bit about Java (instead of yard work!) Thanks to the developer of Aquastats, I have a lot of useful code that will save me time as well.

I was able to successfully connect my test Android App to the Ethernet Module and Login successfully from the app. That's a great accomplishment in just 3 hours, when you consider I had to learn about creating Apps on Android and I have never used Java before.

The first version, of the app, will just read the sensors and plugs in real time and let you modify plug states. From there, I'll probably see about doing a remote login to a remote database to view sensor data over time, which is useful for when you are traveling and you want to see what your tank has been doing for the week etc...

I'm guessing it will take me about 10-20 hours to successfully turn what I have now into an app that lay people can use. I figure that I can set aside about 2-3 hours each weekend for this, so it will probably be 3-4 weeks before you hear from me again, unless I get sick again!

yettihead
05/30/2011, 03:51 PM
Nice, keep up the good work. I have an Evo and would be interested in the app once you have it up and running.

Paradiddle7
05/30/2011, 07:35 PM
Since it's my first app, and since I'm not charging for it, I made it under the Android 2.2 API's. There's about 8-10 levels of API's, so I just chose the one my phone runs on. This way I won't run into features (API Calls) that weren't supported in earlier versions. This does still mean that older versions of Android can't run it, it's just not a guarantee that they can't. I think you'll be fine on you EVO though.

Paradiddle7
06/02/2011, 09:56 PM