PDA

View Full Version : Supporting a 210g tank?

LinkinReef
06/02/2011, 05:37 AM
We're looking to add some support under our floor inside the crawl space for a 210g tank. The only place where the tank can go with be sitting parallel to the support beams under the floor. Now this worries me a bit because I would rather the tank sit perpendicular to the support beams. My only idea is to buy 4, maybe 6 "Super "S" 3 ft. Jack Post" from the home depot and place one on each corner and maybe 2 in the middle on the edges where the tank would be. I'm thinking of placing a 4x4 on top of the jack post so that the 4x4's will be running perpendicular to the way the tank is sitting.

Does this sound right? Should 4 be ok or should I get 6 just to make sure?

mess7777
06/02/2011, 05:41 AM
I am no structural engineer but that should be more than adequate. Especially if you are near an outside wall.

I installed a 110g(much lighter) and had a similar concern. I ended up leaving it as is and haven't had any issues after a couple months. My floor has some bounce in it, but it always did.

rcr
06/02/2011, 06:18 AM
I am no engineer but I have a similar problem. I will be putting a 220g in the middle of a 20 foot span. I was advised to put 3/8 sheet steel between 2 2X10’s in 3 different places. The ends will sit on a block wall and 2 steel posts. 3 concerns I see with yours weight load of the jack post can support, are the jack post designed for long term use and what will be supporting the jack post? Hope everything works out for you.
Robin

James404
06/02/2011, 06:23 AM
Heres what I did to support my 225g:

http://i1010.photobucket.com/albums/af223/TheDJ404/DSC_0445_657.jpg

LinkinReef
06/02/2011, 03:18 PM
I am no structural engineer but that should be more than adequate. Especially if you are near an outside wall.