PDA

View Full Version : begginners questions

muitroc
06/08/2011, 12:00 AM
hi,

New to reef central. I have been starting my 90 gallon reef tank for almost 5 months now and just today added my first type of coral. I had forgotten to find out what kind it was amidst my excitement of my purchase.

Equipment:

48" PC 4 x 54 watt w/ lunar leds do not know brand
Coralife 125 Super Skimmer
Penn Plax Cascade 1200 Canister Filter
Coralife HOB Overflow w/ Dual Outlets
29g Sump with 2 chambers, one small 10" wide chamber and one large, no return pump
2 Koralia Evolution 750 gph

Livestock:

2 true percula clownfish
1 yellowtail damsel
1 fairy wrasse
1 bicolor blennie
3 peppermint shrimp
60 lb LR mainly fiji

Questions:

Which color of lighting is preffered for reefing? Should I do all one color or half daylights half actinics?

What size return pump would go with my setup? My overflow handles 1200 - 1500 gph.

How should I setup my sump? I plan on using a HOB refugium. Only two chambers. Which one should house the return and where should the overflow come in?

A few of the polyps fell off the LR chunk when I brought it home what should I do with them? They are sitting on the sand but are open and not closed.

Michael
06/08/2011, 12:04 AM
I prefer 14,000k and 20,000k lamps, one question, how much live rock have you got?

pmrossetti
06/08/2011, 12:20 AM
that's not much light for a 90g. I'd double it.
pick the colors you like to look at. maybe a 2 to1 blues to whites.

I avoid overflow boxes so I can't help there.

Have the large chamber house the skimmer and drains, small chamber for return pump.

put the polyps on the rocks

muitroc
06/08/2011, 08:23 AM
I have 60 lbs of live rock and another 40 that is cured for my sump.