PDA

View Full Version : Setting up first salt water - 29 G. Biocube

RCKY
06/08/2011, 03:21 PM
I just placed my first shipment of rock and sand from TBS in my tank three hours ago. I have five great looking pieces of rock and for now I have them spread out in one layer.
I am new to salt water and would appreciate input. I am especially interested in whether to remove the bio balls in the second chamber and fill that area with live rock and whether I should just toss the charcoal filter.
Thanks

e46slc
06/08/2011, 03:36 PM
Yes, remove the bioballs as they trap detritus. I wouldn't put live rock in there as they cut flow and trap detritus too. Also, cut the tab between chamber one and chamber two for better flow and noise reduction and remove the false floors in both chambers. Get yourself a media basket and put in filter floss, purigen, and chemi-pure after your tank's cycle. This will be a good start. If you want anymore help, feel free to pm me. I love my bc29!

sponger0
06/08/2011, 03:43 PM
Toss the bioballs, dont put live rock in there either. Toss the filters. I have one without either and my tank is crystal clear. I made a media basket out of eggcrate and put purigen in it and i have a top rack with filter floss to capture waste from the water and change it everyday. Its very inexpensive and thats all i do for filtration, minus 28 lbs of live rock for matural filtration. I plan on putting some macroalgae in in there. Im all for natural filtration. But My tank runs perfect. I have a 29 biocube too

thebkramer
06/08/2011, 03:44 PM
:bounce3: WELCOME TO RC & THE ADDICTION!!! :bounce3:

RCKY
06/08/2011, 09:52 PM
Thanks for the input. I removed the bioballs and will buy the materials to put in a media basket.
Do you not run protein skimmers?
Also, what items in my reef will gorilla crabs kill? I have found 2 which means there are probably more. I found an anemone and would like to see it make it.
And should I remove a black urchin?
Thanks for your help!!

sponger0