PDA

View Full Version : JBJ 28 water change amounts?? 5 gal or 2.5 gal

ddavefish
06/11/2011, 07:59 AM
I am planning on changing 5 gallons per week but because of the amount of live rock and sand I would think there is probably 20 gallons in the Tank.

I do not want to start a cycle and am thinking of changing 2.5 gallons each week

I am new to this tank and saltwater

bnumair
06/11/2011, 08:03 AM
i would say 2.5 gal is enough for a 28gal tank per week. 5 gal per week mean ur changing entire tank in a month which is a lot.

lordofthereef
06/11/2011, 08:16 AM
I don't see a problem with 5g. As long as your change water is clean you won't see any sort of cycle as a result of your water changes. Depending on what you are keeping, I suppose you may run the risk of having a system that is TOO devoid of nutrients (in terms of keeping corals). If you have fish though, that will be unlikely.

If you are thinking of doing 2.5g/week, it might be easier to just do 5g every two weeks. 5g just are just so easy to fill with waste water and then refill exactly what you took out with premixed clean water.

ddavefish
06/11/2011, 08:33 AM
I am using new 2.5 gallon Pool chlorine Jugs for water storage I have 2 full jugs of LFS SWater .Since they sell it rather cheap I have not started premixing yet.

I need to know if the water stored in the jugs is good for a couple of weeks? Should I aerate it prior to adding it?

The last week when I added 5 gallons I went through a Algae faze ( green Hairy)

Thant is why I am thinking that 2.5 every week might be better???

Thanks For taking the time to reply.

MarcoPolo
06/11/2011, 08:36 AM