PDA

View Full Version : QT tank

Mr.Tan
06/19/2011, 08:45 PM
when assembling a QT tank for future fish purchases, do i just use a sponge filter in the HOB filter for the tank? Or should i also put carbon in it and anything else? I'm using a 10g tank and an older whisper ex30 filter i have laying around.. Also, should I just mix up some new water for it (using RO of course) and use that rather then taking DT water?...And will i do any dosing or anything to the fish or is it just a put it in there and leave it for a couple weeks, doing water changes i assume and small feedings? any help much appreciated, still a complete noob and i have been looking over some threads and things i found on google but im still unclear completely as I am getting mixed reviews/answers

(tank contents will just be the whisper HOB filter, heater, PVC pipe)

sporto0
06/20/2011, 08:32 AM
yes, a sponge as far as hob filter is concerned will be fine, you won't need gac or dosing in a QT, it is best to keep it simple, no substrate, maybe a rock or pvc to make the fish more comfortable. i would fill the tank with new ro/di water, once livestock is introduced, monitor ammonia spikes & keep in check with more frequent small water changes. feeding should be normal as this is a good time to either get the fish to start eating or find out what it likes to eat in a less stressful, less competitive environment (DT) 2-4 weeks should be enough time to quarrantine a fish in order to look for disease & get them used to eating what you are feeding.

Mr.Tan
06/20/2011, 09:26 AM
double post

Mr.Tan
06/20/2011, 09:27 AM