PDA

View Full Version : Help with my new BioCube

the architect 7
06/25/2011, 02:28 PM
Hey every on I’m brand new to saltwater aquariums and have been trying my best to do as much research as I can. I have just set up a 29 gallon bio cube about 2 ½ weeks ago. I have what was said to be cured live rock from Indonesia. I filled it with ro water I got from local water store. I bought the red sea Nano starter kit. I also took out the bio balls and put a CPR sr3 protein skimmer in its place. My problem right now is that my water is green like really green and algae grows on the glass like crazy. I wipe it off and in an hour or ½ hour its back. Is this because my tank is cycling and this is part of it. Should I just be patient and maybe it will go away on its own? I have my lights on for 10hrs a day on a timer. Please guys any help I can’t find the right answer wen I have been goggling it lol. Also on my live rock there is old dead tube looking things am I supposed to scrape it off or will it be ok to leave on.

jimmy_beaner
06/25/2011, 02:45 PM
I've never had green water... shut your lights off and cover the tank and it should die if it's algae. Might take 3-5 days.

the architect 7
06/25/2011, 05:16 PM
will it just come back

Army_JAG
06/25/2011, 05:23 PM
cut back your lights from 10 hours, it could just be part of the cycle. I suggest that you leave them on for 8 hours a day, if the water does not clear up in a week cut it back to 5 hours a day until it does. I would also try upping your water changes, maybe to 20% a week until it changes. can you give us some test results, nitrates and nitrites? do you have any coral or fish? what kind of lights do you have? what is your specific gravitiy at?

the architect 7
06/25/2011, 06:37 PM