PDA

View Full Version : Sump or No Sump?

alohadustin
06/26/2011, 12:54 PM
Aloha everyone!

As you could probably guess by the title, I'm a newb! Ive been researching for awhile and creeping around on here. Setting up a tank from scratch appears really intimidating so I've decided on buying the full setup from CL. But I dont think I fully get the sump concept because I see some with and some with out. Can someone point me to a place I can see the difference?

Also if anyone has any insight, here is a description of the tank I'm thinking of buying. Anything I should be asking him before I pull the trigger?

"Established setup, tank, hood, stand, aqua clear filter, aqua c remora skimmer, 2 power heads, air pump, live rock, live sand, mushrooms, 2 clowns....many extras. This tank has been running as is for 8 months, well established."

MAHALO!!

tdcracing
06/26/2011, 03:09 PM
How big is the tank going to be?

alohadustin
06/26/2011, 04:04 PM
50g

tdcracing
06/26/2011, 04:24 PM
To be honest I would not even bother untill you hit about a 75g. Don't get me wrong. It would probably be a good idea on any size tank. But it's a lot of trouble to go through and you probably would not see much of a benifit on something that small.

I have seen people put a sump on a 29 gallon tank (My current size tank) But your not going to get much out of a sump setup on somthing of this size.

I would personally invest in a good skimmer and not worry about a sump enless you go bigger.

Jstdv8
06/26/2011, 05:30 PM
more water volume = easier to catch problems before they become nightmares

billdogg
06/26/2011, 05:50 PM
IMO, if anything, a sump will show the greatest dividends in a smaller tank. Anytime you can add volume, it will make for a more stable system. If you have the room, use the biggest sump you can fit. You will have a place for the heater, reactors, skimmer, etc. If it's large enough, partition part of it off for a refugium as well. Yes, it adds complexity. So?

That being said