PDA

View Full Version : 3yr old Tank Crashing

frnkynlop
07/19/2011, 02:50 PM
Hey Guys,

First and foremost I want to say that I'm new to rc, but been in the hobby about 3yrs and that this is one of my favorite sites. Second I want to apologize for the long post, but I really Don't know what to do. Third Let me give you some background of my setup. I have a 90 gallon dt(3yrs up and running) with a 30 gallon sump which is filled up ¾ the way, In the sump I have some chaeto along with a vertex in 100 skimmer. My light is an 8 bulb tek light. Live stock includes 2 rbta, some frogspawns, leathers, bubble, and flower pot corals, 3 clown, 3 medium tangs, file fish, mandarin, and 3 damsels as well as approx 90 to 100lbs of live rock and about 80 lbs of live sand. In the sump I have about 5 to 10lbs of live rock as well. As for My reading salinity at .27, nitrates 20ppm, phosphates 1ppm, cal 510, mag 1600, KH at 9 and PH @ 8.2.

Now for the problem, about a month ago I noticed that my corals weren’t looking so happy, so I started testing everything and found my nitrates were around 40ish via API Test kits. I did a couple of water changes with no reduction. One thing I would like to mention is that I had been running this system with tap water till recently. I now use rodi water; I also changed my salt from reef crystal to ESV Salt and my nitrates went from 40ish to 20-15ish via the new red sea test kits. My problem now is that my corals still look unhappy and I’ve lost one colony of hammers and about to lose a colony of frogspawns. My flower pot coral is looking kinda sad too, but everything else looks happy. I’m at my wits end.

For the past month I’ve done 25gal water change every 3 to 4days. I also removed the bio balls from my sump. I don’t know what the heck I’m doing wrong any advise would be greatly appreciated as I don’t want to loose any more of my oldest corals. Thanks for reading this long post.

Frank
:headwalls:

javajaws
07/19/2011, 03:21 PM