PDA

View Full Version : Bio Pellet-No change

BuckeyeTodd
07/21/2011, 06:42 AM
Looking for some advice. I am not getting the n/p reduction I was looking for. I'm using BRS pellets, up to full quantity recommended, in a Octopus 110 reactor. I have perfect slow tumble. I have an ATB elegance skimmer, with the reactor flowing directly into skimmer. I'm still running gfo and carbon as I am concerned about n/p levels rising without.

I have been running these for three months, and I'm still reading somewere between 25-50 on Salifert nitrate(which is where I started). Po4 has been .06 with gfo(which is where I started). I'm currently feeding on one day pellets twice and the next day pellets and frozen, so I don't think my feeding is excessive. I recently used a bottle of mb7 to try and kick start these pellets, and am still not getting any noticeable skimmer increase.

What is going on, why am I not getting any results? Should I add more pellets?

jimmy frag
07/21/2011, 06:47 AM
i use the pellets on a few set ups and found if your nitrates are 50 and over it does take quite some time before you see a change. hang in there

BuckeyeTodd
07/21/2011, 06:55 AM
I'd be OK if I saw increased skimmer production, but at least to my eye I'm not seeing much. Did you see increased skimate? On a side note, I HATE nitrate tests with their color chart. I can't wait for the Hanna No3 checker to come out.

javajaws
07/21/2011, 08:35 AM
Do you have the output of your reactor dumping into your sump where your skimmer can pick most of it up?

Plato
07/21/2011, 08:41 AM
Do you have the output of your reactor dumping into your sump where your skimmer can pick most of it up?