PDA

View Full Version : Moving a tank.

hagar101
07/21/2011, 07:17 PM
Hi. I am looking at getting a HOB refuge and skimmer.. my tank is like an inch away from the wall. I need to move it 5" for the refuge. How would i move it? Its a 75 with dimensions 48X18X18. than

fdonophan
07/21/2011, 07:21 PM
I'm far from an expert, but here's what I'd do:

- Remove as much livestock as you can to holding containers with tank water
- Put as much water as you can into big tubs
- get a couple guys to help you move that bad-boy a few inches
- give your buddies some beers to dull their back-aches
- put the water back in and let the dust settle
- put your critters back in
- give your critters happy foods to make them feel better too!

hagar101
07/21/2011, 07:27 PM
Just wondering...those so called HOB skimmers. do they actually hang on the back? or are they like a filter that has and input and output tube?

greech
07/21/2011, 07:49 PM
They have an intake and output and do hang on the back of the tank. Some have pumps in the tank and some use external pumps similar to a HOB power filter. Are you getting a separate skimmer and fuge or a combo unit?

I would drain the tank as far as possible and remove all rocks except any that are on the bottom and well grounded in the sand. If you have a sump you will likely want to drain that too. My tank is on sliders just for this reason. Still have to drain the tank but I can slide it fairly easy once I get most of the water out.

papagimp
07/21/2011, 07:53 PM
I slid a 75 full once and let me tell you, it's not a pretty sight in the least. fdonophan gave a good idea and that would be my recommendation as well. paying close attention to step 4. If the beer isnt' enough, pizza may be in order too. :)

(at least the 75 scoot when full was still easier than the 220g scoot empty lol, I almost filled a diaper on that one)

fdonophan
07/21/2011, 08:12 PM