PDA

View Full Version : Help Regarding Refugium

Soumya
07/31/2011, 09:06 AM
I am very new to marine,know a little bit about saltwater aquarium.Actually I am a hardcore freshwater planted hobbyist.I saw a refugium at a friend's place.I am very much interested in making one.I dont have any reef tank,would like to build only a refugium like Mr. Julian Sprung's.Saw the video of his refugium in youtube-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WYN705Qu6_U
can anyone help me regarding the following-

1)what equipments and accessories should I must buy?
2)which substrate is to be used and what should be the thickness of it in my tank?my tank size is 27x18x18 cu. inch
3)which salt should I use?
4)what is the period of water change?
5)what can be the max temp of tank?in summer my other tank reaches to 29-30C
6)what should the spectrum of the light?
7)suggest some small size schooling fishes please.
8)what type of filter I can use?sump/canister/top filter?which one will be best?

please help :)

billdogg
07/31/2011, 09:12 AM
Oh My.........

Go here - www.wetwebmedia.com - and start reading.

Spend plenty of time here as well. There is more than enough information already posted to keep you busy for days just learning the basics.

Soumya
07/31/2011, 09:53 AM
oh...thanks,will surely go through.I meant salt to be its brand name,red sea or anything else!substrate I meant beach sand or anything.my friend told he changes water of his 6feeter reef once in a month or 2months even,my tank is much much smaller thus i asked about w/c!:beachbum:
anyways thanks.:)

Ron Reefman
07/31/2011, 10:03 AM