PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Questions

jackinfobo
08/12/2011, 12:40 AM
So I am new to seahorses and have many questions. Any questions answered along with any tips would be appreciated please! Firstly, I have decided that I want to start with Seahorses from ORA, considering my LFS can order them for me, and I know for a fact that they are captive bread. I wanted an erectus species, but unfortunately ORA has not offered them in stock for a while. The only one available right now is the Kuda species. I would like to know can I get a pair of the Kuda species now, and later add a pair of the erectus species? My tank is a 47gallon column.
Also, is there any signs of desease and such I should be looking out for in perticular?
I have read a lot of controversial opinions of what temperature to keep the seahorses at. I hear too low and parasites occur more frequently, while too warm promotes tail rot. What would the best temperature be please.
Finally, is it best to use lots of live rock to decorate the tank with? I was planning of buying dry rock from MarcoRocks, then adding Bio-Spira from Instant Ocean to reduce the chances of having a new tank syndrome. Like I said, any info pertaining to husbandry about seahorses and breeding them is appriciated. I'm a newbie with seahorses :)

Thanks,
Stephen

twiggyb
08/12/2011, 05:09 AM
Seahorsesource.com has erectus in and they're captive bred. I'd look at going through them as well.

rayjay
08/12/2011, 10:43 AM
A lot of the questions you ask are subjective and depend on who you ask because it's basically a matter of personal choice.
However there is a lot more to learn and a lot of it can be had by reading the links at the bottom of "My Thoughts on Seahorse Keeping (http://www.angelfire.com/ab/rayjay/seahorsekeeping.html)".
Dan Underwood of seahorse source explains the temperature thing best in one of those links.

cynster
08/12/2011, 08:56 PM