PDA

View Full Version : salinitiy level at 82.0

hulklilgt
08/12/2011, 07:42 PM
i have had my tank up and running for about a week now, I have a 75gal tank i planned on starting the tank with demsals. I went to a new store and talked to a guy about what i was doing and what some other fish store told me to start the tank with demsals. The guy said i would be better off starting with live rock so i did. I bought 40pounds of rock, When i put them in the tank it almost over flowed so i took a lil bit of water out. Aday later i checked the salt level and i was a 1.025 at 81.0 dagrees, now two days later my salt level it almost 1.026 at 82.2 i think that is just a lil high and i dont think that much water would have evaped in two days wih covers (but then again im new to this). Ever since i have added salt to the tank it just seems to jump after two days. i wanna make sure that i an get this leveled out before i put fish in the tank. i would be very happy with a salt level of 1.023 or 1.025 at 80.0-82.0 thanks alot for the help

Raggamuffin
08/12/2011, 07:46 PM
a 75g that hot could evap at least 2 gallons a day likely more, my 40b at 78 goes through at least a gallon a day.

thebkramer
08/12/2011, 07:49 PM
:bounce3: WELCOME TO RC & THE ADDICTION!! :bounce3:

Don't Panic!!!
1.026 is actually where you want your salinity at.. especially if you plan on having corals later on down the road!! THANK GOD for that 2nd store!!!! Noone should start a tank with Damsels!! VERY CRUEL!!! its like pouring acid right on them during the cycle process :sad2:
so soooo glad you listened to him and went with live rock instead!!!
Where do you live?? 82 degrees is a little on the higher side.. I personally don't like to go past 80.. but thats me.. I like to keep it between 78 and 80 ;)
So glad you found us here at RC!!! Hopefully we can help you along the way with any questions and keep you on the right track for a beautiful piece of the reef!!!