PDA

View Full Version : Undersized Biopellet reactor


moonpod
08/30/2011, 07:09 PM
What's the consequence. It doesn't work? Not as well? Or you just run through media fast

nicks387
08/30/2011, 07:16 PM
You run through media fast and you may not have enough media for the job.

moonpod
08/30/2011, 07:35 PM
So nitrates will drop but not all the way and media will be consumed rapidly

nicks387
08/30/2011, 07:37 PM
You got it.

nicks387
08/30/2011, 07:39 PM
Its fine to get you started but you will need to get a bigger reactor in time. Also, make sure the media still has room to tumble as it will not work well if its too full and the media isn't tumbling in the chamber.

moonpod
08/30/2011, 07:42 PM
Yeah I guess the thing is I sorta wanna "stick my toe in" instead of "jumping in"...so I was thinking of getting a BRS setup to try it out...if I like going real deal...and take the BRS and daisy chain it for more carbon or GFO....

nicks387
08/30/2011, 08:05 PM
I hear ya. You can certainly get started with that set up and see how it goes.

aquatictec
09/01/2011, 07:36 AM
We have some large systems (2000 gallons plus) with large amounts of biopellets but not near our recommended dose of 1000ml per 200 gallons. The biopellets work great at reducing nitrates and phosphates but they arent zero. I don't think it would hurt to add too much as I believe the bacteria GROWTH will eventually become limited and the rate of consumption of biopellets will level off. The systems are doing better than they were without the biopellets. Most of the algae growth has died off but not all. ALL the tanks we have set up from the start with biopellets have zero hair algae after a few months.

Greg Smith
Aquatic Technology
(440) 236 8330
www.aquatictech.com (http://www.aquatictech.com)

moonpod
09/01/2011, 08:31 AM
that actually would for me I think be pretty ideal. I am really looking for a softie/lps setup where I can feed generously and keep phos and nitr under control, I don't think "zero" needed for my setup. Not to mention, I like a little bit of caulerpa in the display, which I presume won't do well with a "zero" phos/nitr environment

LOTUS50GOD
09/01/2011, 08:47 AM
You are supposed to add biopellets slowly anyway. If you add them too quickly you will create a bloom that only a UV sterilizer will fix.

moonpod
09/01/2011, 11:52 AM
You are supposed to add biopellets slowly anyway. If you add them too quickly you will create a bloom that only a UV sterilizer will fix.

So what is slow? 1ml/gal???? How do you know when to increase?

aquatictec
09/15/2011, 05:31 AM
It depends on your nutrient level. On a new tank or an existing tank with very low phosphates and nitrates just set up you can start with the recommended dose of 5ml/ gallon. If you nutrient levels are high 1ml / gallon wouls work fine. If the water ever turns cloudy just remove some (half) of the biopellets rinse them in fresh water and save them to add back later. You can safely double the amount of biopellets every 2-4 weeks.

moonpod
09/15/2011, 09:53 AM
my current phosphates are around .11 on the hanna. They were a bit lower, but I think my gfo is exhausted. I feed heavily. Corals and fish. Nitrates are around 10 on the Elos. Def not 25. I added about 100ml. I had to fiddle with the BRS reactor a lot to make it work, but now it's tumbling really well.