PDA

View Full Version : new but old tank???

luv4scjjt
09/01/2011, 03:09 PM
I just purchased a 180 gal from a gentalman and we moved it yesterday. I was only able to keep about a quarter of the water but all the live rock and sand stayed in water. My question is what can i expect from my water chemistry? I have started from scratch before but this is my first time with moving a tank. There were only 2 fish in (he kept them so not in there anymore) and no live coral to be seen. there was only traces of coraline and lots of hair algea. Will it take a few months for the tank to straiten itself out or because of the live rock and sand will it happen faster....or even slower?

HighlandReefer
09/01/2011, 05:15 PM
Usually when you disturb a sand bed like you have you will get spikes in nitrate and possibly ammonia. The rock, if not kept wet in water, could have some die off. This mean more ammonia, nitrate and possibly phosphate. If the guy had high phosphate levels in his tank, then the rock would have absorbed phosphate as well as the sand. You will need to use a product like GFO to pull the phosphate out and it will take time, changing it say every three days or so until your phosphate levels are undetectable.

The algae situation will depend on what species of algae is in there. It will come with the rock and gravel. If it is an easily controlled specie of algae, you will need to scrub any new growth and reduce your nitrate, ammonia & phosphate levels to undetectable levels. If it is a tough (hard to control specie of algae) you can have quite a battle on your hands.

HTH ;)

HighlandReefer
09/01/2011, 05:18 PM
FWIW, personally I would trash the sand and for the rock, I would use a bath of bleach to kill the algae (perhaps several bleach soakings) and use a bath of acid to remove any phosphate and/or copper or other heavy metals that were possibly used in the tank. ;)

luv4scjjt
09/01/2011, 06:16 PM