PDA

View Full Version : Misbarred clowns

mtiknoles
09/02/2011, 08:07 AM
Hi Everyone,
I'm new to clowns and am curious, what makes a clown misbarred? Does something happen during its metamorphosis? Or is it an abnormal gene that makes it misbarred?

Tonya

brtarr
09/02/2011, 08:59 AM
I believe that misbars, as well as other color variants, are due to a mutation.

Rippinfrags
09/02/2011, 09:14 AM
I believe that misbars, as well as other color variants, are due to a mutation.

Like X-MEN?

I believe it has to do with mal nutrition, poor water quality, other reasons that I don't know of, and I believe the misbarring takes place in the first couple of weeks of the clownfish hatching. Hopefully someone else will chime in, because I know very little about breeding clownfish!

phender
09/02/2011, 10:19 AM
Normal mis barring is a husbandry problem. Over barring like picassos and snowflakes is genetic. I haven't dealt with naked clowns, so I don't know about those.

When I first started breeding/raising clowns in the 90's my first batches contained a lot of misbarrs and jaw/gill deformities. Once I got the a filtration/water change schedule figured out and got better at culturing food, I was able to pretty much eliminate misbarring and head deformities all together.

andrenym00
09/02/2011, 11:08 AM
Normal mis barring is a husbandry problem. Over barring like picassos and snowflakes is genetic. I haven't dealt with naked clowns, so I don't know about those.

When I first started breeding/raising clowns in the 90's my first batches contained a lot of misbarrs and jaw/gill deformities. Once I got the a filtration/water change schedule figured out and got better at culturing food, I was able to pretty much eliminate misbarring and head deformities all together.

So your saying that my domino clownfish is a product of malnutrition and poor water quality?

mtiknoles
09/02/2011, 12:51 PM