PDA

View Full Version : New Tank - snails and fish dying

Ice King
09/08/2011, 08:22 AM
Hi everyone. I am new to the hobby and having problems. I cycled my 45g tank for over 6 weeks and then added 2 turbo snails. They died within a couple of hours. Then I added 2 more smaller snails that also died within a couple of hours. I finally added a Blue Damsel understanding that they were heartier. I added it in at 6pm..was fine at 9pm....by 7am it was dead. The salinity has always been around 1.022. All of my other levels are within normal range. The one problem I did have in the beginning was when I originally added salt water a thick white sludge developed but over a week or so started to deplete. I thought that it might have to do with the fact that I didn't wash the gravel because it was supposedly pre-washed. I then added additional gravel which I did wash and no sludge. I only turn the light on over the aquarium when I want to look at it but turn it off for most of the time. Is this an issue? Do I need to start all over (i.e. remove the water, wash the existing gravel and reinsert, etc.)? Help is greatly appreciated.

Ice King
09/08/2011, 08:27 AM
When the first set of snails died the temperature was really low. I added a heater and the temperature has been at 79-80 degrees consistently.

Fish Biscuit
09/08/2011, 08:40 AM
Not sure what the problem was with the fish, but your SG is too low for inverts. Most stores keep their inverts at 1.023. Your SG should be kept between 1.024 and 1.026

Test your water & list all of the results so people on here can give you better help. It's hard to tell what happened without having more details about your tank.

bamf25
09/08/2011, 09:05 AM
Gravel? Not sure what you are using for your substraight, but most people use sand or go bare bottom. More importantly what kind of filtration are you using? Do you have a skimmer? Where are you getting your water from, RO/DI, tap, fish store?