PDA

View Full Version : Apex Jr. - Question on dosing programming


Banjo
09/12/2011, 04:44 PM
Hello,

I just bought an Apex Jr. and I had a question on the programming for a dosing schedule. I have two BRS 1.1mL/min dosers to dose Alk and Ca.

What I want to do is have Alk dose every 2 hours for 1:30 and Ca dose every 2 hours for 1:30, but I want them to dose on different intervals. For example, at 2 am Alk would dose then 3 am Ca would dose, 4 am alk dose, etc.

I followed part of the guide to make the programming for 1:30 duration dose every 2 hours. This is what I came up with, not even sure if it's correct:

Fallback OFF
Set OFF
OSC 118:30/1:30/0 Then ON

I will use the same setup for the second doser, but how do I make it so the pumps dose alternately each hour?

Banjo
09/12/2011, 04:46 PM
Would it simply be:

Fallback OFF
Set OFF
OSC 0/1:30/118:30 Then ON

Or will that make it so the dosing is back to back?

Or this:

Fallback OFF
Set OFF
OSC 059:15/1:30/059:15 Then ON

swearint
09/12/2011, 05:02 PM
Would it simply be:

Fallback OFF
Set OFF
OSC 0/1:30/118:30 Then ON

Or will that make it so the dosing is back to back?

Or this:

Fallback OFF
Set OFF
OSC 059:15/1:30/059:15 Then ON
You are on the right track. You did not specify by how much you wanted to offset the two. Pick one to start and then use the first parameter to create the offset. Also, you don't need the Set command when using OSC, it generates both states. So for example:

[Ca]
Fallback OFF
OSC 0/1:30/118:30 Then ON

[Alk]
Fallback OFF
OSC 60:00/1:30/58:30 Then ON

So Ca will run every two hours from midnight, and Alk will run every two hours from 1:00am.

Todd

Banjo
09/12/2011, 05:19 PM
Awesome, I appreciate the help. I was close! What you stated is the exact offset I wanted.

Banjo
09/15/2011, 07:13 PM
Alright, I programmed the outlets as suggested above by swearint. Everything seemed to be working great, but then I get home tonight and start messing with the graph program and this is what is displayed:

This is Ca only:
http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd282/icedout297/aaa.png

This is Alk and Ca: (red line is now Ca)

http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd282/icedout297/bbb.png

Does this mean mine Alk has not been dosing for the majority of today and that my Ca has been dosing for the last 15 hours???

AHHHHH. Help!

kenargo
09/15/2011, 07:21 PM
Check the outlet logs, they are most accurate; and can you past in your final program?

Banjo
09/15/2011, 07:31 PM
How do I check the outlet logs?

Here are my exact final programs:

Outlet Name: Doser[Alk]

Fallback OFF
OSC 000:00/001:30/118:30 Then ON



Outlet Name: Doser[Ca]

Fallback OFF
OSC 060:00/001:30/058:30 Then ON

RussM
09/15/2011, 07:51 PM
In the web pages, XML->XML outlet.

It will list all outlet on/off activity since midnight

swearint
09/15/2011, 08:01 PM
If you need to see a specific day, append the URL with ?sdate=YYMMDD for the desired date.

Todd

Banjo
09/15/2011, 08:03 PM
The XML Outlet shows the same thing. Ugh.

swearint
09/15/2011, 08:10 PM
Something else happened then, there is nothing in the code that would have caused it. Do any of the other outlets show similar behavior?

Todd

Banjo
09/15/2011, 08:13 PM
Weird. I will let it keep going, but keep a close eye on it.

The only other outlet I have setup so far is a heater which hasn't been plugged in (for the exact reason that happened, lol)

Banjo
09/15/2011, 10:55 PM
Definitely strange... seemed to like auto-correct itself, but both dosers messed up during that time so I'm assuming it was the unit itself. Weird???

http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd282/icedout297/ccc.png

Banjo
09/16/2011, 12:17 AM
One other thing to add...

If it actually dosed Ca for that entire time:

1.1mL/min x 60mins x 14 hrs = ~924 mLs of Ca in the tank. I have the BRS 1 gallon jugs and 924 mL's is roughly a quarter of that jug. There isn't a quarter missing from what I previously had left when I set it up.

I wish I tested my water soon as I saw the graph instead of doing a water change.

swearint
09/16/2011, 06:56 AM
Look on the status page, when was the last Power Restore? I suspect the unit rebooted. I don't recall if it has been fixed, but in earlier firmware versions, whenever the Apex would reboot a portion of the logs would get deleted. So there would be a large gap missing. It appears from the Neptune site that the Jr does not have a 12VDC backup port. I was going to suggest adding a small UPS.

Todd

Banjo
09/16/2011, 11:46 AM
That must be it.

Power Failed: Sep 15 2011 20:01:30
Power Restored: Sep 15 2011 20:02:37