PDA

View Full Version : New Biocube 29 Hobbiest

skindeepdc
09/13/2011, 11:10 PM
I'm less than a year into the hobby...older brother and friend and I all got very different tanks around the same time. We have a friend who's an experienced mentor, who owns a coral company on the side. But I'm still learning on my own!
I went with a biocube 29 and it's the perfect size for my townhouse right now. I'm sure i will be upgrading in the future. My brother was basically handed a new 150 gal Oceanic system....damn!

Anyways, I'm on my second, and so far successful, attempt of establishing a healthy aquarium. My LFS sold me sick fish the first time around and I think I contaminated my tank with a touch of their tank water, causing all other added fish to die of ich. So I emptied and cleaned it and started with new sand and rock, basically I started over completely. It was def frustrating, but I am ready for more, as I love the hobby so far!!!

My tank is intended as a reef Saltwater Oceanic Biocube 29 gallon tank.
I use RO/DI water from a nice system shared by myself, brother and friend.
15 pounds of fine, white Carib Live Sand
20-30 pounds of Live and Dead Rock
Upgraded lighting fan system (today)
2 Koralia 240 gph power heads on alternating cycles through
JBJ Ocean Pulse Duo Wavemaker (today)
CPR Aquatics SR3 Skimmer, been breaking in for 4 weeks and pulling green.

I have a pair of Black and White Ocellaris Clownfish. One of which were hospitalized and rescued from previous tank disaster, it's mate died.
One Six Line Wrasse
One Large Red Leg Reef Hermit Crab
A Handful of Blue Leg Hermit Crabs
One Large Turbo Snail
One Large Astraea Snail

I recently added my first cluster of Zooanthids.

Anyone with experience in nano and biocube tanks, plus everything bigger with advice to offer, please throw it all at me!!! I'm just taking it slow and learning as I go. Thanks, Danny

WetShepherd
09/14/2011, 12:23 AM
Welcome to RC ;) How long has your tank been up this round?