PDA

View Full Version : new 59g setup with sump too noisy (water only - just started)

xpace
09/20/2011, 05:31 AM
Hi all,

I'm very very new to all this magic stuff and found this forum just few days ago.
I have read quiet a lot in here, but some things are very specific and is really hard to get answers for them.
So here I am needing some advise :) obviously.

As you can see there is nothing there in the tank yet only water, not even salt. I have started the circulation on sunday morning to see if everything goes well. it does but noise could be lower than it is now.

I have few problems but I want to start only with one just for now the most annoying one.

The submersible pump in the sump is brand new and very quiet, but the vibrations it makes are amplifying throughout the whole cabinet and it sounds like humming noise from over amplified speaker when there is nothing playing.
somewhere I have found that it's the plastic transparent pipe, because it's too hard and transfers all the vibrations to the PVC pipe that is mounted onto the cabinet. the only problem is I can't seem to find any rubber or some sort of flex softer tube.

Does anyone had some experience with this ?

thank you

wood0691
09/20/2011, 07:11 AM
i would try something like these isocubes under the pump, they are fairly cheap. just a tought
http://www.globalindustrial.com/p/tools/vibration-isolators/pads/supco-iso-cube-anti-vibration-pad-18x18x34?utm_source=google_pr;utm_medium=cpc;utm_campaign=Vibration-Pads-google_pr;infoParam.campaignId=T9F&gclid=CNaO6tPyq6sCFZJU7AodbUCN4w

CRC88
09/20/2011, 07:21 AM
I just went through this process on my tank. Had it setup in the garage and thought the damn thing was really noisy. I noticed that when you add salt to the water, the increase in density greatly reduces any noises you have. This includes the splashing in the overflow, and any dripping noises you might have.