PDA

View Full Version : Help with raising sg?

dashielle89
09/20/2011, 11:23 PM
So I'm new to saltwater and just set up a 65 gallon recently. I let it cycle for about 2 months with 50 lbs of live rock and sand. My sg was at 1.020, and I knew that was a bit low, especially if I wanted corals later on, but I figured I would just add a few hardy fish first and I could raise it slowly over time.

After the 2 months I went out and got about 30 more lbs of live rock. A couple days later I noticed there were 2 very tiny aiptasia on the new rock, which I obviously hadn't seen when I bought it. Even though I new they needed a higher sg, I decided to buy 3 peppermint shrimp because I heard how fast the aiptasia can take over, and within a few hour they had eaten it.

I was doing about 10% weekly water changes with sg of about 1.024 and trying to top off with saltwater to get the sg up without raising it too fast (I have under 1 gallon of evaporation a week right now since I don't have very strong lighting). Well after about a week and a half it didn't seem the sg changed at all, then one of the peppermints died. I assume that's the reason since the water is perfect besides that.

So now for the past few days I have been doing water changes every day of about 1-2 gallons with a bit higher sg of about 1.027. It still doesn't seem like its changing much at all. I don't want to raise it too fast and kill everything, but I don't want to kill them from it being too low either. So could someone help me out with the best way to go about this?

The only other things in the tank are hitchhikers: 1 mushroom, 1 snail, 4-5 brittle stars, 1 pink oba, and 2 asterina stars. They all seem to be doing fine.

Thanks for any suggestions.

Ron Reefman
09/21/2011, 05:37 AM