PDA

View Full Version : very much newbie . alkalinity and ph question

smaug1
10/06/2011, 04:55 PM
I have a fairly new fowler that I am just beginning to add some simple corals such as zoas and soon clove polyps. Im not going to try anything more difficult then taht for quite some time. It is a 58 gal lightly stocked in the way of fish. It has about 50 lbs of full live rock. My numbers are
dkh 12
ph 7.9
mg 1200
ca 450 to 500
Do these numbers need any adjustment for the corals I spoke of? I want to eventually have quite a few polyps.

HighlandReefer
10/06/2011, 05:03 PM
I would assume your water parameters are close to your salt mix parameters. For coral you want a salinity of around that of NSW, 1.0264.

If you don't have any coralline algae growing on your rocks, you most likely have little demand for alk, calcium and mag at this point. Many salt mixes are a bit high in alk.

The recommendations are:

alk: 7-11 dKH your a bit high, but demand will bring it down.

calcium: 400-450 Again your a bit high, but demand will bring the level down.

mag: 1300-1350 is a good range. Your salt mix may be on the low side and its possible your mag kit is off, since many are off 200 ppm. You could bump it up 59 1300 ppm without problems. ;)

You need good lighting for coral.

Habu
10/06/2011, 05:04 PM
I'm no expert but I think your PH and Mag are a little low but not bad.

Habu
10/06/2011, 05:05 PM
Highlander got to you while I was posting. Great answer!

HighlandReefer
10/06/2011, 05:05 PM
As long as your pH remains between 7.8-8.5 you are fine. If you are using test kit for pH I would not worry about it, since they can be off quite a bit. ;)

smaug1
10/06/2011, 05:44 PM
my mg,ca kit is elos,are they a good kit? ,my ph is api.My lights at the moment is 190 watts of pc lighting in 420 nm and 10k.My sal is 1.023 to 1.024. I have kept it low because it was a fowler up to a little bit ago. I am slowly bumping it up to 1.025. Will the ph go up with that adjustment??

HighlandReefer