PDA

View Full Version : Apex on AOL ?


x947
10/12/2011, 02:25 PM
When I type in http:\\apex in the browser line in AOL, I get an "error - website cannot be found". I can go to the Apex through Internet Explorer.

Any ideas ?

thanks
Mike

aquamanic
10/12/2011, 02:49 PM
what if you use the IP address instead of "apex" (and I assume you meant // and not \\)?

x947
10/12/2011, 02:57 PM
I noticed that my original post had a typo on the http://. I did enter that correctly in the browser and typed it incorrectly in the post.

When I try the I/P address (192.1868.1.12), I get an error - Website is not available . . .

aleonn
10/12/2011, 03:12 PM
If you login to AOL, I believe you're not within your local area network. Hence, the AOL browser would not recognize http://apex. Do you have a dyndns setup? Are you able to access the Apex remotely?

x947
10/12/2011, 05:50 PM
I'm not that far along yet . . .you're thinking I can access it through AOL after I assign it a statoc I/P address ?

aleonn
10/12/2011, 06:06 PM
If your router has a dyndns feature, then you can access the Apex at "x947.dyndns.org" for example. Check out the unofficial Apex guide in the Neptune Systems RC forum, and register for a free dyndns account at dyndns.org.

kurt_n
10/12/2011, 11:57 PM
If you can access it fine through MS Internet Explorer, then I'd just forget about the AOL browser and make your life easier.

x947
10/13/2011, 07:23 PM
actually, accessing it through AOL would make my life easier . . .

pweissma
10/13/2011, 08:18 PM
I think you're saying that you are having trouble accessing your apex from within your lan from aol.
Entering your apex's local ip address might work.

If you read the guide listed above you'll see how to set up your apex with a static local ip address and how to configure your browser so that you can access your apex from outside your lan. Once you do this, the address you enter to access your apex from outside will probably work through aol and solve your problem.

x947
10/13/2011, 08:31 PM
I have not gotten as far as setting up a static I/P address. I will try the aol thing once I do. Thanks for the suggestions.