PDA

View Full Version : New guy algae problem need some help!

Michael3672
10/16/2011, 02:41 PM
Hi all
New guy here and let me start by saying hello and I hope this is posted in the right area.
I had a reef tank a few years ago so can't say I'm new to the hobby but this problem is perplexing me.
I set up a biocube 14 two months ago and it cycled with no problem. Went through it's diatom bloom which has since receded. Now I have a nice new algae starting to take over the entire tank. The best I can describe it is as follows: brown small stringy almost like a filament with a fatter top and a most have a bubble on it. I'll try to post a pic soon. But this stuff is growing like wildfire and overtaking everything. I don't know if it's a form of a hair or slime algae or dinos.
Here are my parameters. Sg. 1.026. Ph 8.2, Am 0ppm, Na 0ppm, alk 8, calcium 400 and 0 phosphate. These results are current as of today. I change 2gallons a week with pre made SW from the LFS. Temp is kept at 79-80 With a 10 hour photoperiod. I have 2 small chromis in it and feed a pinch every 2 days. No other animals in the tank other than a CUC..have been taking it slow. I run carbon,chemipure elite and floss for filtration along with a ball of cheato in the middle chamber on a reverse light cycle.
I know it's hard to diagnose a problem or a specific algae but I'm at a loss and it's getting worse. So I hope coming here will point me in the right direction. Just wondering if this is a normal thing or something to jump at now. It just has stumped me cause I never saw this crap in my previous tank.
Thanks in advance to anyone who can help.

Michael3672
10/16/2011, 02:47 PM
http://tapatalk.com/mu/62a68a5a-42a7-e3c2.jpg

Dustin1300
10/16/2011, 02:47 PM