PDA

View Full Version : How long does it take for the cupramine to work?

marlin85
10/17/2011, 05:34 PM
3 days ago was my 1 week mark for doseing the cupramine. Ive been keeping it at .5 and my vlamingi tang now has alot of spots on him and is breathing heavily. His eyes are a little cloudy also, but he is still eating. How long should it take for the cupramine to work? does temperature affect the treatment at all? Should I try adding any other medications along with the cupramine?

Thanks

jonathansruelas
10/17/2011, 08:39 PM
Read sticky at top about mixing cupramine with other meds.. Cupramine to be effective should be 2 to 4 weeks after lost spot was seen. 4 weeks Is better.. Are you sure its at .5? There shouldn't be ich on fish if u had this going on for a week already.. Temp 78

Not that experienced with this but I have gathered this info from other reefers

jcmjoe
10/17/2011, 08:50 PM
Im still learning also But I have my fish in a quarantine tank with cupramine for an Ich outbreak, after 1 week the spots were gone and the fish stopped scratching. I noticed I have to add cupramine regularly to keep it at the recommended level. It will absorb into any substrate or rocks you may have. Goodluck

sandwi54
10/17/2011, 09:39 PM
are you sure those are ich spots? all of the ich spots should've disappeared in 1.5 weeks at the normal reef tank temperature. can you take a close-up, clear photo of the tang?

MrTuskfish
10/18/2011, 08:17 AM
are you sure those are ich spots? all of the ich spots should've disappeared in 1.5 weeks at the normal reef tank temperature. can you take a close-up, clear photo of the tang?

Yes, and what are you using to test the copper level?

marlin85
10/18/2011, 08:26 AM