PDA

View Full Version : Complete Noob diving in, pub intended

scooter1
10/18/2011, 08:13 PM
Background:
My wife likes fish and corals. I've only had one fresh water nano octo tank some 25 years ago. So as a gift to my wife I have been putting together a salt water tank (thinking LPS at this time).

Prework:
Prior to buying anything I had a area of the house that was ~28"D x ~58"W x 12'H that only housed our audio/video equipment taking up about the first three feet off the floor. SO...I dabble in wood working and took it upon myself to solve a couple of issues at the same time. I have since built an entire enclosure for the whole area which probably deserves its own thread, but for now it breaks the space up into four areas (from top to bottom):
Tip top (4th floor)- computer server space - ~3'
3rd floor - extra led flat screen tv, audio subwoofer, wii/kinetic sensor bars, etc - ~3'
2nd floor - 120 gallon main tank/lighting/powerheads/etc. - ~3'
Ground (1st floor) - A/V equipment/consoles/etc. - ~3'
I will post pictures when I can get too it.

Yes I know, I've made it complicated for myself with the sump. I'll come back to this in a minute. For now I will refer to this as "the Housing"

What I purchased so far:
The following is a list of the items that I recently got for $700
one Rio 3100 pump
one Rio 200 pump
two QuietOne 2200 pumps
one 120 gallon all glass (four 1/2" bulkheads on bottom, one covered in plumbers putty, two overflow boxes both with two of the bulkheads)
one 30 gallon all glass sump tank with one dual overflow partition
one 10 gallon tank with plastic top/canopy (with busted circulator/filter)
150 lbs live rock
200 lbs live sand
one Coralife Super Skimmer - 125 gallon
one Coralife Turbo Twist 12x - 500 gallon
two Utilitech TM09DHBL manual timers
one GE GE5101N manual timer
one metal halide bulb
one phosphorus vapor bulb
two very old looking ballast (unknown origin and no model numbers on them)
two marineland maxijet 1200 powerheads