PDA

View Full Version : Dottyback pseudochromis bully

Catandfish
10/20/2011, 06:54 PM
Hi everybody! Im pretty new to this hobby (about 3 months) and I have a problem! I have had two clowns and a yellow tail blue damsel for a few weeks. Four days ago I added a dottyback pseudochromis....and ever since my poor damsel has been hovering in the upper corner of the tank :(. Occasionally the pseudochromis swims at her and nips at her tail. I read on here to catch her and float her in a tupperware for a few days....but I cant catch her!
Any other suggestions?
Is my damsel going to hover up there forever? Or will i wake up one morning and find her dead?
This hobby is stressful!
Any help would be appreciated!
PS....29 gallon tank about 3 months old with LR a coral banded shrimp and the above mentioned fish. Water parameters have been good recently.

Lynnmw1208
10/20/2011, 07:19 PM
I would say in a 29 gallon, the pseudochromis will always bully the fish. Those fish need their space. you could try an orchid dottyback (Pseudochromis fridmani). they're supposed to be a bit more nice. http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod_display.cfm?c=15+38+1116&pcatid=1116

king87
10/20/2011, 07:24 PM
what kind of dottyback is it? pseudochromis is basically a synonym for any dottyback. they are very territoiral and +1 the orchid may be a bit less agressive. you can either get rid or the dottyback or maybe wait it out fish tend to be more agressive when first introduced. it may calm down after a while. the hobby is stressful lol but worth it. happy reefing - allen

Catandfish
10/21/2011, 11:55 AM
Thanks for your info! I think it is a royal dottyback? It is half pink half yellow split vertically. Ive noticed the damsel swims around at night when the dottyback is under a rock, then when the dottyback comes out it chases her back to her corner. I think I may see if I can exchange her....do LFS generally let you....of course I'd have to catch her first!

C0rp
10/21/2011, 02:39 PM