PDA

View Full Version : very new to the hobby!!! please help

hughes209190
10/26/2011, 05:15 PM
hello my name is jeremy hughes i am very new to the hobby. I have always liked saltwater aquariums and I finally decided to get my own. I just bought a 55 gallon tank but i have nothing else. If you could tell me whats the best supplies to get for my tank please be specific. I would also like to know whats the best way to start my new tank? thank you!

aandfsoccr04
10/26/2011, 05:19 PM
The first question I would ask of you, is the tank drilled or reef ready? The majority of people here highly recommend using a sump in addition with your display tank to store things like heaters, protein skimmers, and add additional water volume to the overall setup.

You're gonna need some powerheads or a closed loop system for flow, some type of lighting to help the corals grow, and some way of purifiying your tap water to make it have a TDS reading of as close to 0 as you can get.

Zappo
10/26/2011, 05:28 PM
Before deciding on what equipment to buy, start by thinking about what sort of fish/corals you want to keep. If you want to keep sps, you'll need very strong lighting, water flow, and filtration. A fish-only tank, on the other hand, just needs enough light to let you see the the fish, enough filtration to keep the water reasonably clean and enough water flow to keep things moving.

If you can afford it, try to get adjustable powerheads like tunze or vortechs that are capable of providing too much flow. You can always turn them down a bit. An oversized skimmer would be good too. I only say this because people often upgrade their 55 gallon tanks eventually to get more space for arranging rocks and corals. 55's are pretty narrow. You'll save a lot of money in the long run if you buy equipment that you know you'll be keeping for a long time.