PDA

View Full Version : Time for a mandarin

Po Sei Don
11/01/2011, 08:46 AM
Hey RC,

I have had my system up and running for about 4 months now and I constantly see little pods scurrying around at night when I turn the lights on. I only have a 24 gal nano with two clowns the starry blenny jumped :(. I would like to round out my tank with one of my favorite fish, a mandarin.

I have read a fair amount about them and I know that the pods in my tank probably won't suffice for long. Do you think I should try to grown some more pods or try to supplement its diet?

I have seen the few at my LFS eat different types of foods (flakes, brine, I think even mysis) am I ready to take on the challenge? Any tips for caring for a happy mandarin?

Daniel Reef
11/01/2011, 08:52 AM
I'm no expert on mandarins, but I understand from reading other threads that you need to have an abundance of pods and that the suggestion is a tank that is at least one year old. I would wait. I hope others chime in as well.

Daniel Reef
11/01/2011, 08:54 AM
BTW, you should post this question in the Reef Fish Forum so that mandarin experts can respond.

crankbait
11/01/2011, 08:57 AM
I cant believe Im actually going to give advice on this....Im a noob and dont have a dragonet but he is on my list so Ive done some reading. Ok here is what I know...SOMETIMES its not so much that Mandarines wont eat prepared foods its that they require more time to eat than the other fish allow them to. I saw some really cool videos on Youtube where people train Mandirines to eat......One way was to put some brine in a glass mason jar then sorta corner the manderin in his spot with the mouth of the jar open to him. He can go in and eat at his leasiur and the other fish cant get to his food.....but sometimes I guess all they will eat is pods. When I get one I will buy pods online and try to keep them up in the fuge. I dont have a huge stocking list so I really want the Manderin to be my focus

horwitzs
11/01/2011, 09:16 AM