PDA

View Full Version : computer hook up?


apuhl20
11/01/2011, 10:47 AM
Ok so I am trying to set up my new apex. I used one of the supplied usb cables from the controller to my computer and it zapped my computer and shut it off. Did I plug something in wrong?

ThaBeast
11/01/2011, 10:50 AM
Yes the USB style cables are for apex components only. The apex head unit connects to your home network via Ethernet. This is covered in the owners manual

aquamanic
11/01/2011, 01:28 PM
:reading:

X2

Before you destroy some valuable electronics, you should spend 30 seconds reading some of the documentation.

kurt_n
11/01/2011, 02:47 PM
In other words, do NOT plug any USB device into the ports on *any* Apex component that look like USB ports. They aren't.

Nickeleye
11/03/2011, 01:42 AM
The Apex documentation advises against plugging in any standard USB devices into any Aquabus port on the Apex, Energy Bar, or Apex Accessory Modules. Doing so may damage the USB device plugged in to the Apex hardware or damage the Apex hardware itself.