PDA

View Full Version : Aluminum Bar, etc. instead of Heatsinks ?

drew930
11/08/2011, 01:50 PM
I am about to get started on my LED build. Was wondering on what people thought about using other things instead of heatsinks to mount the LEDs to ? I have seen like 1x1 aluminum bars and such . What else can you use ? Will the aluminum bars get hotter than heatsinks ? As long as you have fans still your good right ?

masharp1126
11/08/2011, 01:57 PM
I'm no expert by any means, but have been reading the DIY LED threads and there are a lot of people using U channel from home depot or lowes. I think the inner measurement is like 3/4" and the outer measurement, where you'll be mounting the LED's is close to 1".

drew930
11/08/2011, 02:10 PM
That seems like the stuff I'm tailing about. Maybe its not aluminum. When you mount these can you make a box then weld bars across it too ? or does the fans have to blow inside the bar also ?

heckeng
11/08/2011, 02:11 PM
The deal with bar vs. heat sinks is that you don't have the surface area to dissipate the heat on bar. You can think of an aluminum bar as a heat sink because it really IS just that, it is just not a very efficient one. The more surface area on your piece of aluminum, the more heat the air will take away from the aluminum. If you don't have enough surface area, the aluminum will just get hotter and hotter and potentially allow your LEDs to cook themselves.

xCry0x
11/08/2011, 02:18 PM
Heat sinks are fairly cheap, why would you skimp on one and let your expensive LEDs melt?

The fins on a heat sink give the added surface area for heat to dissipate off of. There is a vendor, heatsink usa.. I think... that sells various sized aluminum sinks for cheap.