PDA

View Full Version : Crushed coral to sand

patm09
11/11/2011, 01:27 PM
Anybody had good experience with this? When I set my Solana up 2 months ago a buddy gave me free crushed coral for my tank so I wouldn't have to buy any. Being a newbie I didn't think about it and now that I am really into this hobby and done some research I really want to do a deep sand bed..about 4 inches of medium grade aragonite sand. Right now I have 2 Ocellaris, 1 Skunk Shrimp and a couple of hammer corals and xenia along with a small CUC.

Can anyone with experience give me steps to tank in order to do this?

Thanks!

seapug
11/11/2011, 01:48 PM
gradually remove the crushed coral over a period of a week or so. You don't need to remove every speck. Rinse your new sand and gradually add it to the tank over a period of days. There are many ways to do it, but in a tank that size, it's probably easiest to put a few cups at a time in a plastic sandwich bag, sink it to the bottom then use a knife to cut it open.

chefgreg
11/11/2011, 08:15 PM
gradually remove the crushed coral over a period of a week or so. You don't need to remove every speck. Rinse your new sand and gradually add it to the tank over a period of days. There are many ways to do it, but in a tank that size, it's probably easiest to put a few cups at a time in a plastic sandwich bag, sink it to the bottom then use a knife to cut it open.

+1
just remove it while doing your water change with your syphon "a lil at a time so you dont remove alot of your biofilter".

409corey
11/11/2011, 09:02 PM
When adding the new sand into your tank after u have washed it out. Take a 3/4" or 1" PVC pipe that will reach the bottom and tape a funnel to the top of the pipe. Then slowly pour your sand down the pipe..... Worked great for me!

WetShepherd
11/11/2011, 09:55 PM