PDA

View Full Version : Biocube 14G or 29G

TprMoore
11/17/2011, 09:01 AM
Morning All,
I'm just getting into the hobby of Saltwater, I've always had an interest in it but I've held off since I've been at school because I was living in the dorms and knew I'd be moving to an apartment soon. Well, it's been six months and I'm all moved into the apartment and I've finally really started to consider getting into this saltwater experience. However, I can't decide between the 14 or 29 for a few reasons.

I like the compact size of the 14, but I like how the bigger space of the 29 allows you to do more.
I've heard the larger the tank, the more stable it is, this being true (and me being a rookie) I would rather have the more stable tank, correct?
Bigger tanks are more expense, and thus more expensive to stock...(college budget).
Lastly, in about two years I'll be moving (growing up :cool:), and I'll have to transport the tank approx. 90 minutes away. And in theory the 14 would be much easier to move than the 29......

Please feel free to leave your opinions, comments, and thoughts below they're much appreciated!

Cheers!

thegrun
11/17/2011, 09:29 AM
A 14 gallon tank is less stable due to the limited amount of water, so your margin of error is very small. Because of this, it is not the ideal starter tank for a novice. That said, if you spend the time to read up on tank chemistry (it sounds like you have), there is no reason you couldn't keep a 14 gallon tank successfully. You will quickly run out of space in a 14 (or even a 29), but if you start with the realization you will only be able to keep one or at most two fish and a limited amount of coral in the tank, it seems like a 14 gallon tank would better serve you need right now. When you "grow up" you are going to want a 120 gallon tank anyways!
Good Luck, keep us posted.

sponger0
11/17/2011, 09:52 AM