PDA

View Full Version : AI Sol Superblue or 10x54w ATI

Tim98277
11/28/2011, 09:37 PM
Hi all, I'm new to RC and fairly new to the hobby. Well I haven't really done it for 12 years and now back into it with my 70 that's been up for 4 months now. Currently i'm in the build stage for my custom 200 52.25 x 32 x 30.

I was curious about my lighting options and I would prefer to stay away from the MH, now that I have narrowed my options down, I was thinking of either 5 AI super blue( 4 corners and 1 in the middle) or a 10x54w ATI powermodule. Any answers and help in the right direction would be grateful.

Thanks in advance,
Tim

ken6217
11/28/2011, 09:48 PM
The LED's will cost you more. The T5 bulbs though will have to be replaced periodically. If i were me, it's a no brainer.... Get the ATI T5.

I actually bought LED (Reef Tech) and went to T5 (ATI Powermodule). It is a known entity. The jury is still out on LED. The LED fans will say how great they are but there are threads on here from people with LED's and they are having issues with their SPS.

One thing that is certain and 1000% certain. You can keep any corals or invert with the ATI fixture that you are looking at.
Ken

chadfarmer
11/28/2011, 09:56 PM
That's what I was looking to buy before I bought LEDs went to macna to order them from and talk to ati in person. After seeing all the vendors using AI LED I bought them and haven't looked back

Do what u want I am not telling u to buy leds just my experience

Tim98277
11/28/2011, 10:18 PM
Thank you both, the input is greatly appreciated.

Felixc395
11/28/2011, 11:04 PM
Can't go wrong either way! I give the AI's the edge because of the programmability unless you go with the dimmable powermodule, but both are awesome!

Oh, and welcome to RC!!! :) :) :) Hope you like it here!

chadfarmer
11/28/2011, 11:08 PM
i am going to suggest go see them in person whatever light you are looking to purchase

rtparty
11/29/2011, 08:03 AM