PDA

View Full Version : Icecap A4+ question


Chronicj7
12/08/2011, 08:49 PM
I know you can wire these ballasts to run 2 longer bulbs or even 3 longer bulbs instead of the 4X4' bulbs.

My question is can you do the opposite and wire 6 shorter bulbs or 5 shorter bulbs to it?

Chronicj7
12/09/2011, 11:49 AM
bump anyone?

I am in between what fixtures I want to get for my 40g breeder that will primarily have sps in it.

I will need individual reflectors and will be purchasing ATI bulbs for any of the fixtures I choose to go with so these are the costs of each.

The fishneedit 36" - 220
The Oddysea 36" - 240
Or stick with the retro 36" - 210

My only predicament is that if I go with the fishneedit or oddysea, that leaves me available to sell the retro kit for about $100 which will in turn be like saving $100 from either of the other kits. I also won't have to do any work.

I would ultimately like to have a 6x36" t5 over my 40 but if the 4x36" isn't enough I can always add another 2x36".

Hujoweforum
12/09/2011, 04:25 PM
The A4 is a generic non dimable 660. Any combination of 16 feet of lamps and 440 watts maximum. Any configuration even vho and standard or vho and t-5 mix.

Chronicj7
12/09/2011, 04:53 PM
So what you're saying is I could wire up 5x36" t5's being that the total length is 15 feet and the maximum wattage is 195 at 39w per bulb?

If this is the case are there any diagrams for this to be done or can I just loop one of the sockets?

salty child 79
12/09/2011, 08:44 PM
You can only run 4 bulbs MAX.

Chronicj7
12/10/2011, 01:00 AM
Ok. Well with that being said who has the cheapest endcaps, reflectors, and standoffs for t5's?