PDA

View Full Version : Bristleworm or Fireworm??

MantisO_o
12/10/2011, 09:54 AM
Okay, my Reef is infested with these worms and i can't tell which are they. Bristleworm or Fireworm?? I have seen Fireworms before and what i have seems much thiner but i'm not sure what these are exactly. So i took a video of them... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WmYtZJ9U2BQ

If they are Bristleworms...i read and was told to keep them. I have tons of them, which too many of something must be bad, right? :(

SushiGirl
12/10/2011, 11:20 AM
Look like bristleworms to me.

J2T
12/10/2011, 11:29 AM
I'm no expert but I agree with sushigirl, they look like bristleworms to me as well. From what I know fireworms are all red in color I think.

rssjsb
12/10/2011, 11:30 AM
They look like bristles to me too. The vast majority of these worms that turn up in aquariums are harmless. You may want to post a picture of their heads, since "bad" worms have different mouth parts.

If you've got a population explosion, chances are that you're overfeeding.

MantisO_o
12/10/2011, 10:07 PM
They look like bristles to me too. The vast majority of these worms that turn up in aquariums are harmless. You may want to post a picture of their heads, since "bad" worms have different mouth parts.

If you've got a population explosion, chances are that you're overfeeding.

Thank you all :) Yeah i saw a Fireworm twice in an old system a while back. It was fat!!! Reddish to pink and fat!!. I took those out and gave it to the Mantis Shrimp...lol

I been feeding every other day to cut down on the overfeeding that i had been doing. I'm feeding a Blue Spotted Jawfish with three frozen cubes in a 55g reef (and its Zoanthids and Mushrooms dominated). So now what would be anyone suggestions? on feeding and pushing back the Bristleworm population to a decent amount?

I will try to get a mouth picture or video.

SushiGirl
12/10/2011, 10:29 PM