PDA

View Full Version : Did I miss the cycle?


UCT
12/10/2011, 11:41 AM
Filled my 40B 20 days ago and added live rock and live sand bought from LFS on Black Friday. Began feeding. Last week added a CUC (5 hermits and 5 snail) because I didn't clean the dead stuff off the rock before adding and it was looking funky. Anyway, just started testing. I have 8.2 ph, 1.024 sg, 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites and 20 ppm nitrate. Used RO/DI from the start.

SushiGirl
12/10/2011, 11:55 AM
Sounds like it. Probably due to live rock being used.

dzfish17
12/10/2011, 12:10 PM
+1 Probably went thru a mini cycle... usually 2/3 weeks. Stock slowly so your bacteria can keep up.

Collinrb
12/10/2011, 12:11 PM
same thing happened to me, although it was because I got the LR from a friend and was forced to pick it up before I got my test kits. two weeks later I got the kits and had missed the cycle

UCT
12/10/2011, 01:07 PM
Thanks. Two more weeks and then first fish comes out of quarantine and into tank

dzfish17
12/10/2011, 02:05 PM
Thanks. Two more weeks and then first fish comes out of quarantine and into tank

Your doing it the right way. Good job.

Dustin1300
12/10/2011, 02:37 PM
+1

Great job on having a QT:) !

Reefing Newbie
12/10/2011, 05:27 PM
You will be very happy you have the QT for sure. What fish is in the QT now?

UCT
12/10/2011, 08:46 PM
You will be very happy you have the QT for sure. What fish is in the QT now?

Have a pair of yellowtail damsels. Wife insisted they were cute.

00Warpig00
12/11/2011, 10:36 AM
I have 5 yellow tail damsels in my 180. So far they have been model citizens.

Nick

UCT
12/11/2011, 03:40 PM
I have 5 yellow tail damsels in my 180. So far they have been model citizens.

Nick

Good to hear. These two seem to get along. Neither is bossing the other. Hope we when get more fish, they leave the newer ones alone.