PDA

View Full Version : What Skimmer and Return Pump

mrFly
12/10/2011, 04:01 PM
Hello

I'm a newbie to this and I am setting up my first Salt Aquarium. I have a 75g Rimless tank and a Trigger System 36' Ruby Red Sump. I would appreciate any advice on which skimmer and return pump to purchase. Is ther such thing as over skimming a system?

Thanks in advance

reefergeorge
12/10/2011, 04:05 PM
HA.. That's like asking what kind of car to buy.. Do you want internal or external? Look at octo skimmers, and either ehiem or mag pumps if you go internal. If external, I love my posiden pump. It is silent.

Zappo
12/10/2011, 05:08 PM
It all depends on what you want to keep in the tank. If you plan to have sps then there's no such thing as over-skimming and the biggest skimmer you can fit/afford would be good. If you plan to stick with softies and maybe a few lps, they tend to like a slightly dirtier tank and you can go with a smaller skimmer.

As for pumps, a mag 7 or mag 9 would get the job done if you want something internal. They're extremely reliable.

jon99
12/10/2011, 09:15 PM
If you plan to have sps then there's no such thing as over-skimming and the biggest skimmer you can fit/afford would be good.

I disagree to some degree. While over-skimming may not be a problem, a skimmer that's too large for a system can. I'm not speaking from personal experience, but many retailers on this site say that an oversized skimmer may not perform as well as one that's properly matched to the aquarium size and stocking level of the tank, and often recommend a smaller model when asked by other reefers if a particular skimmer would be too mch for their tank. However, with that being said it's better to have too much skimmer than not enough... especially since so many people upgrade and get larger tanks down the road.