PDA

View Full Version : Calcium and other trace elements

Authentic
12/13/2011, 07:03 AM
I am just getting into keeping some sps and am having trouble keeping my calcium levels up,
Parameters
30 gal nano w lots of lps and soft
Nitrates 0
Nitrites 0
Sal .25
Cal ,never over 400
Amm 0
Alk 2.7
Kh 11

I bought a purple seriatopora and it won't come out
Everything else in my tank is doing fine
I'm adding kale washer as top off and have tried calcium carbon actor
Should I just keep adding calcium?

Randy Holmes-Farley
12/13/2011, 07:16 AM
Just so that you don't get confused in the future, none of the things you list are trace elementss. Trace elements are those that are present in seawater at very low levels. Things like iron, copper, arsenic, tantalum, etc. :)

I presume the alkalinity is 2.7 meq/L? If so, that corresponds to 7.6 dKH, so I'm not sure what you are saying about alk and Kh.

What is the calcium level, aside from not being over 400?

Authentic
12/13/2011, 07:26 AM
380 calcium,when I add the recommended amounts of liquid calcium or carbon actor it will go to 400.

Randy Holmes-Farley
12/13/2011, 11:26 AM
I'm not sure what carbon actor is, but kent Liquid Calcium is a fine way to boost calcium. I'd boost it a bit more, but 380 ppm is not a big problem. :)

blueregaltang
12/13/2011, 11:47 AM
Hi
So by stating Kale washer you mean to say you are using Kalk Wasser (Lime water) to top off, correct?
You refer a Kh of 11, so alkalinity of 11 dkh, correct? ... if it is so that could be one of the reasons for your seriatopora to be closed as it is to high for such coral, however you also mention a Alk of 2.7 ... so that is 7.6 dkh and thus like Randy, I'm confused... can you please clarify and help us to help you ... TY

blueregaltang
12/13/2011, 12:19 PM
One more question please ... by carbon actor you mean to say Carbon Dioxide dosed Reactor, so a Calcium Reactor, correct?