PDA

View Full Version : LED Lighting for my 75 gallon

goby_girl
12/15/2011, 05:16 PM
I am looking to replace my current LED lighting. I have soft corals and a couple of LPS in a 75 gallon. I have 2 ReefFanatics pendents. One side just burned out and I would like to replace the whole unit rather than repair it. I am looking at a couple different ones:
AquaticLife
AI Sol
EcoTech Radion
Does anyone have any comments on these lights or is there a better option out there?

Although, I have had aquariums for years, I am totally new to LED technology and I apologize in advance, because I don't quite know the terminology.

Thanks in advance

Reverend Reefer
12/17/2011, 09:11 PM
i really like my reefbrite led strips, the xho ones are really nice. i've seen the vertex strips at an lfs display, absolutely beautiful. the ai sol ones are pretty cool too, the guy i bought the used reefbrites had upgraded to an sol system, pretty awesome although he had them mounted a little too close to the top of the water, this caused a weird steaking/spotlighting effect.

my reefbrite strips are about 8" off the water so i don't get that weird effect. if you have a hood, they're easy to just attach, just screw them in.

don't know much about the aquaticlife or the radions. i jumped the gun on leds a year ago, and bought these ecotech ones, 4 of them actually. anyways, i was a bit bummed cuz they don't give off as much light as i thought they would. now they've sort of rebranded the ones i have as freshwater lighting and then put out some new lights that are reef capable, although when i first bought them, supposedly these were reef capable. anyways, live and learn.