PDA

View Full Version : Apex Temperature Control Question


JohnV8r
12/18/2011, 07:16 PM
I have a system that is approximately 194 gallons and am having some issues maintaining water temperature overnight. Rather than simply increase the wattage of my Finnex heater, I would like to add a second heater.

My question is can an Apex be set up to control two heaters off of one temperature probe?

If yes, can the parameters to turn on the heaters be set up with different "on" parameters (e.g. heater 1 comes on at 80.0 degrees and heater 2 comes on at 79.5 degrees) or would both heaters have to turn on at the same time?

If no, can a second temperature probe be added to allow for a second heater control?

Thanks in advance.

OzarksReef
12/18/2011, 08:42 PM
My question is can an Apex be set up to control two heaters off of one temperature probe?

Yes - this is the preferred setup for best temp maintenance.

If yes, can the parameters to turn on the heaters be set up with different "on" parameters (e.g. heater 1 comes on at 80.0 degrees and heater 2 comes on at 79.5 degrees) or would both heaters have to turn on at the same time?

Each can be set to a different on and off temp

If no, can a second temperature probe be added to allow for a second heater control?

Another temp probe can be added using a separate PM1 or PM2 module.

aquamanic
12/18/2011, 08:44 PM
No need for two probes. You can control both off a single probe. You can have both heaters run at the same time or one runs for the first degree or two of heat then the second fires to add more heat. Completely up to you.

JohnV8r
12/18/2011, 09:10 PM
Awesome! Thanks guys!!!

schwaggs
12/19/2011, 10:35 AM
I have 3 heaters programed to come on in .1 degree succession... ;) Since these are on solid state outlets, the 2 minute hysterisis is plenty long and rapid on/off transitions is not a concern to me (nothing really to wear out). This yeilds quite an accurate lower temp threshold. My 3rd heater rarely comes on.

Fallback OFF
If Temp_S < RT+-0.1 Then ON
If Temp_S > RT+-0.1 Then OFF
If Temp_F > RT+2.0 Then OFF
Min Time 002:00 Then OFF

Fallback OFF
If Temp_S < RT+-0.2 Then ON
If Temp_S > RT+-0.2 Then OFF
Min Time 002:00 Then OFF

Fallback OFF
If Temp_S < RT+-0.3 Then ON
If Temp_S > RT+-0.3 Then OFF
Min Time 002:00 Then OFF

JohnV8r
12/19/2011, 02:50 PM
That's awesome. Do you run that off of one temp probe?

pscott99
12/19/2011, 03:13 PM
And where do you have them located in relation to each other ?

schwaggs
12/19/2011, 11:43 PM
I do run 3 temp probes but my programming is all based off of one probe in my sump (Temp_S).

I have my primary 250W heater in my 90 gallon refugium (the water flows directly from the fuge into the display).

Second 300w heater is in the sump

Third 200w heater is in one of the display's overflow

Steve175
12/23/2011, 12:01 AM
I have 3 heaters programed to come on in .1 degree succession... ;) Since these are on solid state outlets, the 2 minute hysterisis is plenty long and rapid on/off transitions is not a concern to me (nothing really to wear out). This yeilds quite an accurate lower temp threshold. My 3rd heater rarely comes on.

Fallback OFF
If Temp_S < RT+-0.1 Then ON
If Temp_S > RT+-0.1 Then OFF
If Temp_F > RT+2.0 Then OFF
Min Time 002:00 Then OFF

Fallback OFF
If Temp_S < RT+-0.2 Then ON
If Temp_S > RT+-0.2 Then OFF
Min Time 002:00 Then OFF

Fallback OFF
If Temp_S < RT+-0.3 Then ON
If Temp_S > RT+-0.3 Then OFF
Min Time 002:00 Then OFF

What is RT in your program?

RussM
12/23/2011, 02:46 AM
What is RT in your program?
'Regional Temperature' See the section in the Apex manual entitled Seasonal Temperature Variation.