PDA

View Full Version : Vodka/Vinegar Dinoflagellates

Tracey2
12/28/2011, 02:40 PM
I was trying to beat HA with a variety of carbon sources, biopellets, vodka and vinegar, dosing slowly. Since the introduction of vodka and vinegar I now have dinoflagellates to deal with, has anyone heard of this? When I search dinoflagellates and vodka dosing, I only find threads where carbon dosing is the cure not the cause???

Randy Holmes-Farley
12/28/2011, 02:43 PM
I've not heard of it. It could be a true cause and effect, but it is more likely coincidence, IMO.

You've been using all of those at the same time? Not many folks do that. Maybe that was the cause. :D

Tracey2
12/28/2011, 03:38 PM
Yes, all 3, I have been running pellets for a few months and just recently started vodka and vinegar, yesterday I cut the vodka and vinegar in half, maybe I should stop with both for awhile and just run pellets but my nitrates are still 20, and phosphate .00 to .04. I have cut back feeding and increased water changes.

SBV
12/28/2011, 03:40 PM
I had the same thing happen to me. I'm on my 3rd day of blackout to rid this pesky stuff. I was up to 25ml a day of vinegar only. Urrrgh!

Tracey2
12/28/2011, 04:40 PM
Nice to know I'm not alone. I know this is not a coincidence because it has happened in both tanks since dosing both vodka and vinegar. SBV, have you stopped dosing?

I don't know if I should quit dosing or maybe just stop the vinegar??

Randy Holmes-Farley
12/28/2011, 06:39 PM
If the Dino's are bad, I'd stop organic carbon dosing and use GFO.

Tracey2
12/28/2011, 07:38 PM
Thanks Randy, I am also running gfo. I need to find a source of Lye in Canada, I have gone thru a ton of gfo and still have algae, I would like to start regenerating it.

VegasUSP
12/28/2011, 09:23 PM
If the Dino's are bad, I'd stop organic carbon dosing and use GFO.

I have a bad case of dino's that are driving me insane! Would you recommend stopping biopellets and using only gfo to get rid of them?

bertoni