PDA

View Full Version : Measuring PAR for LED lights???

chuckdallas
12/29/2011, 10:55 AM
I have read a few posts back and forth about trying to use a PAR meter to test LED light intensity. One camp says it's okay and you can get good readings and I've also read that you can't compare Metal Halide readings with LED readings using a PAR meter. I'm an electrical engineer but no physicist.

Does anyone know what the real story is? I have a feeling that the "die hard MH'ers" post here to sway people to their side. I have heard from a LFS that white LEDs are just as intense as blue LEDs, which is not the case for T5s (as far as I've been read on RC) but if a PAR meter can't accurately measure LEDs, then how will we ever know?? I'd contact some of the more reputable LED light fixture makers, but I think they would use their sales techniques to sway the vote. Any non-biased opinions out there?

Thanks in advance and P.S., I already own 2 LED fixtures, after using T5s for half a year, so I'm not trying to determine whether to buy LEDs. I just want to know if my LEDs are TOO bright for the 24 inch deep tank, even though they are 18-24 inches over the top of the water. The zoas sitting 6 inches below the top are doing GREAT and the mushrooms down near the sand in the corner away from big flow are doing great, but I can't keep a chalice (3 different ones down low near the sand) and the oxypora died too. The phos is measured with a Hanna Phosphorus meter and has 0-3 ppm each time, using my sump with chaeto and the media reactor with GFO in it.

dzhuo
12/29/2011, 11:37 AM
This is a general deficiency with the Apogee quantum sensors. It underweights blue and overweights red. Technically, it has nothing to do with LED vs. MH or T5 although lots of commercial LED fixtures produces lights in the blue spectrum heavily so it's being affected the most. You can still use this particular sensor for a general guideline of PAR output. Here is Apogee's official response: